M blog

March 31, 2020

التوعية ضد كوفيد-19 - حقائق حول العيون والنظارات


دائمًا ما تنتشر الشائعات بشكل كبير في الأوقات الحرجة، ويكمن الخطر هنا في أن ترويج الشائعات قطعًا يؤدي إلى ما لا يُحمد عقباه، وخاصةً حينما يتعلق الأمر بأرواح الناس، لذا لا بد أن نبذل كل ما بوسعنا في سبيل الوصول إلى الحقيقة ومعرفة أفضل الوسائل التي يمكننا حماية أنفسنا من خلالها.

بشكلٍ عام ليس هناك مصدر عالمي أفضل من صفحة منظمة الصحة العالمية المعنية بفيروس كوفيد-19 والتي يمكنك الوصول إليها من هنا، وعلى الصعيد المحلي عليك بمتابعة قنوات التواصل الاجتماعي التابعة لوزارة الصحة في دولتك واتباع إرشاداتها، وإذا كنت تبحث عن نصائح خاصة فيما يتعلق بالعين وفيروس كورونا فنحن مصدرك الأمثل.

أولاً نود أن نلفت انتباهك إلى حقيقة أن هذا الفيروس جديد، ولا يزال الباحثون في عالم الطب إلى الآن يحاولون اكتشاف طبيعته، وعلى الرغم من ذلك فهناك العديد من المعلومات المعروفة بالفعل، منها ما هو خاص بهذا الفيروس ومنها ما يشمل جميع الفيروسات من نفس النوع، لذا نقدم لك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته -فيما يتعلق بمستخدمي النظارات- من خلال الإجابة على بعض الأسئلة:

أعلم أنه بإمكاني تجنب الإصابة بالفيروس من خلال تجنب لمس الأنف والعين والفم، وأنا ارتدي عدسات لاصقة وأحيانًا نظارة، فهل عليّ التوقف عن ارتداء كلا الاثنين؟ أولاً إذا كنت ترتدي نظارة فمن الصعب جدًا التوقف عن لمس الوجه، ولكن مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها تنصح بتجنب لمس الوجه دون غسل اليدين، ويُعد هذا جزءًا بالغ الأهمية من توصياتها، لذا فإن النظافة ضرورية أيضًا كما هو الحال بالنسبة لأي شيء قد يلمس العين أو المنطقة المحيطة بها.

نصحت وكالة السي إن إن الإخبارية مستخدمي العدسات اللاصقة بعدم استخدامها في الوقت الحالي واستبدالها بالنظارات، فهل احتمالية الإصابة بالفيروس عن طريق العين كبيرة إلى هذا الحد؟ بالتأكيد نظريًا يُحتمل الإصابة بالفيروس عن طريق العين، ولكن في الواقع ليس هناك ما يدل على حدوث ذلك، ويظل ارتداء العدسات اللاصقة آمنًا مادمت تحرص على غسيل يديك جيدًا بالماء والصابون وتجفيفها بالطريقة الأمثل وهي استخدام المناديل الورقية النظيفة، والاستمرار في اتباع الإجراءات القياسية التي تصدر يوميًا أو شهريًا، مع ملاحظة أنه حان الوقت لتقويم العادات الصحية غير السليمة.

أخبرني صديقي أنه لا بد أن ارتدي قفازات جراحية أثناء وضع العدسات اللاصقة أو نزعها، فهل هذا صحيح؟ إذا كنت تتبع بروتوكولات النظافة الصارمة (كما هو موضح فيما سبق) فليس من الضروري ارتداء قفازات، وفي كل الأحوال وضع العدسات أو إزالتها مع القفازات أمر أشبه بالمستحيل.

 سمعت أن قطرات العين قد تتسبب في الإصابة بالفيروس، فهل هذا صحيح؟ لا، فإذا كنت تستخدم قطرات معينة قبل ظهور الفيروس فلا ضرر من الاستمرار في استخدامها، وإنما الضرر الحقيقي في التوقف عن ذلك وتعريض العينين للجفاف أو تفاقم التهيج، مما قد يؤدي إلى فرك العينين عن غير قصد دون غسيل اليدين.

هل توفر ليّ النظارة العادية نفس الحماية التي توفرها النظارات الطبية المُعدة للوقاية الشخصية؟ لا، ليس هناك دليل على أن النظارة العادية  الطبية أو الشمسية توفر حماية ضد انتقال العدوى الفيروسية.

أحيانًا ما أخلع نظارتي، وأضعها على المكتب، فهل هذا يعرضني للخطر؟ لا بد أن تفترض ذلك  لأن الفيروس يعيش على الأسطح الصلبة لعدة أيام، فإذا لمس أي شخص حامل للفيروس السطح الموضوع عليه النظارة أو عطس أو سعل عليه فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى نقل العدوى لوجهك، لذا إذا كنت ترغب في خلع نظارتك -حتى ولو مؤقتًا- فلا بد من وضعها داخل الجراب وإغلاقه بإحكام.

شاهدت مؤخرًا على التلفزيون أن من أعراض فيروس كورونا احمرار العين أو التهابها، وفي بعض الأحيان أجد لون عيني مائل إلى الوردي، فهل هذا يستدعي القلق؟ عليك توخي الحذر إذا احمرَّت عينك أو تحولت إلى اللون الوردي، ولكن هذا لا يعني الفزع من فكرة أنك مصاب بالفيروس، وربما يرجع سبب احمرار العين إلى أن العديد من الفيروسات تتسبب في التهاب الملتحمة، ولا بد من استشارة طبيب العيون وإجراء الفحص إن حدث ذلك مرة أخرى.

لا أزال قلقًا، ماذا يمكنني أن أفعل إضافةً إلى ذلك؟ من الجيد الانتباه والحذر، ولكن لا داعي للهلع،  ونود أن نؤكد على أن اتباع بروتوكولات النظافة له دور كبير في حمايتك، لذا لا بد من تطهير النظارة باستمرار باستخدام سائل مخصص لتنظيف العدسات وقطعة قماش نظيفة، وتجنب استخدام مطهر اليدين على العدسات، فقد يؤثر على الطبقة الخارجية الرقيقة.

 إليك أبرز النقاط الهامة والخطوات البسيطة للوقاية:

  •  الحرص على غسيل اليدين باستمرار بالماء والصابون لمدة 20 ثانية كاملة.
  • استعمال مطهر لليدين مضاد للبكتيريا، ولكن ليس قبل استخدام العدسات اللاصقة.
  • تجنب لمس الوجه دون ضرورة (حتى وإن كانت يديك نظيفة).
  • تجنب فرك العين  (حتى وإن كانت يديك نظيفة).
  • الحرص على اتباع بروتوكول النظافة عند التعامل مع العدسات اللاصقة.
  • تطهير النظارة باستمرار.

بالطبع قد يبدو كل ذلك مألوفًا لديك لأن هذه هي نفس النصائح التي تُعطى عند استخدام العدسات اللاصقة أو النظارات لأول مرة، فلم يحدث تغير كبير بالنسبة لارتداء النظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة مع ظهور فيروس كوفيد-19، كل ما تحتاجه هو أن تولي عناية أكبر للحفاظ على نظافة النظارات، فلا مجال للتهاون في مثل هذه الأوقات. أهم ما عليك فعله في الوقت الحالي هو البقاء في المنزل واتباع الإرشادات المحلية وتوخي الحذر.

مزيد من التدوينات

  • more-1.jpg

    النظارات الشمسية الأمثل للوجه الصغير: كيفية اختيار النظارة الشمسية الأنسب لشكل وجهك

    عرض المزيد
  • more.jpg

    أنواع مشكلات الرؤية الشائعة ووسائل التصحيح للتخفيف من حدتها

    عرض المزيد
  • Card342x210px-Arabe-01.jpg

    عودة للحياة، عودة لوضوح الرؤية

    عرض المزيد
ساعدنا لتقديم خدمة أفضل

تود المساعدة؟

ابقى على اتصال

M

blog

March 31, 2020

COVID-19 Awareness – The truth About Eyes and Eyewear


One thing is for sure at a time such as this – myths abound, and danger comes because the rumor-mongers will never let facts get in the way of a good story! But when lives are at stake, we all deserve to know the truth and learn the best ways to protect ourselves.

For general advice, there’s probably no better global source than the World Health Organization’s dedicated COVID-19 page; you can access that here. For local advice, stay tuned to your health ministry’s social media channels, but when you need to seek specific advice about your eyes and the coronavirus, you’ve come to the right place.

Let’s start with a reminder that the coronavirus COVID-19 is a new virus and, as a result, the medical world still has much to learn about it. However, there’s a lot that we already do know – some of it general to all viruses of this kind, and some specific to COVID-19. So, let’s take a look at what – as eyewear users – we need to be aware of by answer some of your questions:

I know I can help prevent the spread of the coronavirus by avoiding touching my nose, eyes, and mouth. I use contact lenses and sometimes eyeglasses… should I stop wearing both? Firstly, if you’re an eyewear user – you can’t stop touching your face. But the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) full advice is to avoid touching your face with unwashed hands – this is the critical part of their recommendation. So, as always with anything that involves the eye and the area surrounding it… hygiene is essential!

CNN recently advised contact lens users to put them on the shelf, and to wear glasses instead. Is the threat of catching the virus through my eye that high? Well, the threat of contracting the virus through the eye certainly exists. Theoretically it is possible, but there is no proof of it happening. Wearing contact lenses remains safe as long as you are washing your hands fully with soap and water and drying them (ideally) with clean paper towels. Keep following the standard procedure for dailies and monthlies… but note that now is the time to iron out those hygiene shortcuts you’ve gotten used to!

My friend told me I should wear surgical gloves when inserting or removing my lenses. What do you think? If you’re obeying strict hygiene protocols (as described above), the wearing of surgical gloves is not necessary and, in any case, placing and removing lenses with gloves on is nigh on impossible anyway.

I heard comfort or lubricating drops could attract the virus. Is this true? No. If you were using drops pre-COVID-19 you should continue using them now. Don’t do anything that could lead to your eyes drying or an increase in irritation – this is likely to lead to you unwittingly rubbing your eyes with unwashed hands.

Will my eyeglasses provide the same protection as medical PPE eyewear? No. There’s no evidence that a regular pair of spectacles or sunglasses provide any protection against any viral transmissions.

I sometimes take my eyeglasses off. Is placing them on my desk putting me at risk? You have to assume that it is. Why? Because COVID-19 can survive on hard surfaces for days. If a virus carrier touched, coughed, or sneezed on the same surface your glasses are placed on, you could be transferring the virus to your face. So, when removing glasses, even temporarily, place them in your eyeglass case and securely close the lid.

I recently saw on TV that red or pink eyes are a symptom of the coronavirus. My eyes sometimes turn a little pink. Should I be alarmed next time this happens? You should be concerned whenever they turn red or pink… but don’t run away with the idea that you’ve contracted the coronavirus. Many viruses can cause conjunctivitis – the probable cause of your red eyes. It’s definitely something you need to get checked by your eye specialist next time it occurs though!

I’m still worried. What more can I do? Well. Being worried is good – but there’s no cause for alarm. Let us stress that following the correct hygiene protocols will help keep you safe. Disinfect your eyeglasses regularly though, and use a specially formulated glasses cleaning fluid along with a clean soft cloth. Avoid using hand-sanitizer on the lenses… it could affect their optical coating.

So, what’s the takeaway from all this? Simple:

  • Wash your hands regularly with soap and water for fully twenty seconds
  • Use an anti-bacterial hand sanitizer, but not right before handling your contact lenses
  • Avoid unnecessarily touching your face (even with clean hands)
  • Avoid rubbing your eyes (even with clean hands)
  • Pay particular attention to your hygiene protocol when handling contact lenses
  • Disinfect eyeglasses regularly

If all this sounds familiar, it’s because this is the same advice you were given when you collected your first contact lenses or eyeglasses. With the advent of COVID-19, when it comes to wearing lenses or glasses, nothing much has changed… we all just need to be far more diligent in maintaining our eyewear hygiene because, well, this isn’t the time to drop our guard.

For now, stay home, obey your local regulations, and stay safe.

More blog posts

  • more-1.jpg

    Best Sunglasses for Small Faces: How to Choose the Right Sunglasses for Your Face

    Read more
  • Blog-redirection.jpg

    The CHANEL Spring-Summer 2020 Eyewear Campaign

    Read more
  • more.jpg

    Common Types of Vision Problems and Vision-correcting Aids to Relieve Them

    Read more
Feedback

Need help?

Stay connected